top of page
Search

Christmas Blog


For a while now I’ve wanted to write a blog about my love for Christmas and my personal reasons for loving it. Undoubtedly Christmas is a favourite time of year for many people so much of what I say will probably match up. However there are a few Christmas traditions I hold dear that I’d love to share. The dearest tradition I have is one that started with my father. Every Christmas Eve, he would drive me down to the lake shore of Lough Ramor and we would just stand and look at the pure stillness of the lake. He would tell me that the lake was “still as the dead” every Christmas so that Santa’s reindeer could wash their hooves. We used to do this every year without fail and as this will be my first Christmas without him, I hope to carry on the same tradition with my nephew.


Another personal tradition I have is that on Christmas Eve there are two films I will watch every year when I go to bed and they are ‘Rocky IV’ and ‘A Christmas Carol’. I know that unlike ‘A Christmas Carol’ ‘Rocky IV’ may not seem thematically fitting but it’s set on December 25th so therefore I regard it as a Christmas movie. Although my family never came around to that idea, it’s never stopped me from carrying on that tradition. Lastly I’ll say that the most fun Holiday tradition of mine is when my best friend and I watch all the Doctor Who Christmas specials starring David Tennant. We just get nostalgic and childlike watching those specials and it’s something I look forward to every year. Christmas traditions are important but I would genuinely encourage people to create their own Christmas traditions as it adds a new element of sentimentality that really carries

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page