top of page
Search

Leaving Cert Pressure

I only did my leaving cert exams five months ago but it already feels like a very long time ago. But one thing I’ll not soon forget is the stress I felt leading up to the exams. I studied and worked to do well but my nerves still got the best of me at the best of times. What I really think doesn’t help are the conflicting outlooks from teachers when it comes to the exams. One day it’s “just an exam” and the next it’s “One of the most important and future determining times in your life”. Personally this didn’t help me as I was already full of paranoia that I’d fail. On the one hand, it just being an exam didn’t seem so bad but it being incredibly important quickly snapped me out of it and made me panic like a fish out of water.





For anyone who may be reading this blog who’s currently in sixth year, I’ll say this. The leaving cert is important and will have an effect on your future but that still doesn’t change the fact that technically it’s still just an exam. You just need to show up ready and prepared which can be achieved with hard work and you’ll be fine. Confidence is key in a way as even though someone may have learned everything off and is more than ready, if they’re not in the right mindset, the pressure can make them crack. So honestly, the best advice I can give for someone doing their leaving cert is to be confident, prepared but also relaxed just enough to still work hard but just enough not to crack

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page