top of page
Search

My experience meeting Robert Sheehan

When I was sixteen years old, I met one of my absolute favourite actors, Robert Sheehan. I was in Golden Discs on Henry street in Dublin waiting on a friend when I stepped outside at just the right time as it turned out, Robert Sheehan was standing right outside the door. He was wearing a hat and sunglasses, presumably to keep himself anonymous but I recognized him instantly. I asked him if he was definitely Robert Sheehan which was probably a strange conversation starter but he could probably sense I was nervous so he just replied with “yeah man what’s up?”. I was completely starstruck and couldn’t believe this was happening.





I couldn’t stop myself from telling him how good he was in Netflix’s ‘The Umbrella Academy’ and he appreciated it, however once I told him that he was my favourite character in E4’s ‘Misfits’ where he played Nathan Young. Once I told him how great he was in ‘Misfits’ and how good of a show it was, he just put his arms out and said “come here man, just get in here”. I didn’t know why he wanted to hug me as I was sure he had heard this praise many times before but he just grabbed me and told me that I was the first Irish kid in years to mention ‘Misfits’ to him and he really loved that due to it being one of his favourite projects. It was a truly masterful show and we spoke about it for about ten minutes before the family he was waiting to meet showed up. A few minutes after he left, my friend showed up who is also a huge fan of Robert and when I told him what had happened that day and that he had missed him by only a few minutes, his jealousy was palpable. Thankfully he wasn’t bitter about it but I’m surprised he wasn’t as it was one of the best moments of my teenage years

63 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2021 by wires-crossed-ireland. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page