top of page
Search

New York


Twice in my life I’ve been to New York City and while I was very young, I can confidently say it is one of the greatest places on earth. One of the main reasons for this being, if you throw something, you’ll hit someone Irish for sure. For such a massive city so far away and different to what we’re used to here in Ireland, I felt at home due to how many Irish descended families there were.

Once your Irish accent is heard, you’re basically a celebrity to anyone around and believe me, you’ll get the usual “my grandma’s from Kerry” or “I’ve got like a million cousins in Ireland”. It’s a city with a huge Irish community. Yet even then, that’s not the only reason the city felt so welcoming. All of the people we met there were incredibly nice and made us feel like we all belonged. It just goes to show that New York is singular in it’s character. America is a great country but some different areas around the country are still difficult for many people due to their race or religion. Of course these problems exist everywhere but in New York, it doesn’t matter if you’re Irish, Italian or anything at all because you truly get the feeling that it’s a city of just people together no matter who they are.





2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page