top of page
Search

''Thank you Covid''


Last year in July when gyms was not allowed to open because of Covid. I mentioned this to a mate Mark Heaver. He mentioned he knew a personal trainer named Gavin Gilsenan. The first thought in my mind was “he get me up massive hills running until I had a heart attack, doing star jumps and press-ups while shouting like a football fan in a football stadium being as loud as possible” I thought about it for 2 days and thought its worth a try if I don’t like it the at least I tried. I phoned Gavin up and spoke for 90 minutes about my goals and my life style and what I want to do. He quoted a price I was happy with and decided to sign up.

His first instruction was for me to do 1,500 steps a day walking. I thought “oh no that’s too many. I downloaded an app that counts my steps and my first walk I walked for 5 minutes and it was done my steps. “I thought wow that’s easy” I was relieved I can do it so I was relieved about this. As the weeks went by it went up and up and now after 4 weeks it went up to 4,500 and I was still finding this way in my capabilities. I started losing the weight months later and by November I was achieving 10,000 steps a day. I started doing charity walks raising money in January and another in March.


March was my biggest achievement. I ran 10k though out the month and I got a medal for it which is hanging up in my living room. This may sound little to people but for me it is a massive achievement. If it was not for Covid I would not have been introduced to Gavin. It is one thing that has been positive coming out of Covid.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page