top of page
Search

The funniest thing I have ever seen

I’m aware this may be an odd title for a blog but I feel the subject will make for a good one. When I was in Transition Year we had a week called Irish week. The central focus of Irish week was general appreciation of the Irish language and culture. This included games of course and one of them was a game that involved splitting the year into teams and the teams had to go around the school and collect items to bring back to the teachers in the canteen. Upon bringing it back, we had to say the object’s name in Irish to the teachers otherwise it didn’t count. This did get out of hand naturally as we were all sixteen and the teachers failed to specify that there were limits to what objects could be collected. Because of this, the canteen soon filled up tables, chairs, benches, plant pots from around the school and even computer monitors.





This all added up to a great time but eventually I witnessed what I regard as the funniest thing I’ve seen with my own two eyes. A boy in my class walked into the canteen holding a door. When he was seen, I’ll never forget the look of shock and anger on the face of our year-head and the accompanying teachers. He pointed at the door and shouted “DORAS!” and ran as if his life depended on it with the staff soon on his heels all around the school. It was like watching a police chase on foot and I laughed harder than I ever had before. I still regard this as one of my greatest school days and the funniest thing I’ve ever witnessed in school

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page